Author Topic: Question about Ceramic Cartridges...  (Read 11370 times)

medium_grade

• View Profile
Question about Ceramic Cartridges...
« on: June 26, 2015, 07:47:03 PM »
My CG has a Magnovox Imperial Micromatic turntable. My unit gets a fairly high amount of distortion in the upper-range on loud/highly compressed songs and some newer records skip. The unit was serviced and the cartridge/needle was replaced. I am new to this sort of thing so I am not sure what is normal or not, but I wonder what (if anything) I can do improve the sound. Is there a high-quality ceramic cartridge I can get that will work? What have your experiences been?

624Magnificent

• Western Maine
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Ceramic Cartridges...
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2015, 07:59:48 PM »
What cartridge do you have now?
Tom

medium_grade

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2015, 08:11:05 PM »
What cartridge do you have now?

Not sure. Let me ask the guy who serviced it.

medium_grade

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2015, 08:18:14 PM »
Sorry, needle was replaced. Cartridge was not.

spiritofradio

• Richmond, Va
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2015, 08:49:36 PM »
just snap a shot of the cartridge.  usually only 2 or 3 were used on that model so it should be easy to spot.  Some of the ceramics held up better than others so it could be that your cartridge is failing and you need a new one.  maybe a new harness too.
~~~and did you exchange.......
a 'walk-on' part in a war.....
for a lead role, in a cage?~~~

624Magnificent

• Western Maine
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2015, 08:50:18 PM »
Lift up the tonearm and see if there are any numbers on the cartridge. You might need a small mirror. One of the common cartridge companies is Astatic and another is Electro-Voice. You might see one of those names and a number after it. For example The Electro-Voice EV-26 is common on Magnavox in the early 60's.
Tom

medium_grade

• View Profile