Author Topic: Johnny Horton's Columbia 1072 Masterwork Console rescued!  (Read 7072 times)

Deke Dickerson

• View Profile
Johnny Horton's Columbia 1072 Masterwork Console rescued!
« on: October 08, 2015, 05:49:17 PM »
Hello all--

I just joined this forum because it seems to be the only place where there is any knowledge about the rare 1950's Columbia/Bell & Howell Masterwork Consoles.

There has already been mention of a model 1072 Columbia console that belonged to Johnny Horton on this forum.  It turned up in a small town in Louisiana on a local craigslist for $250.

I'm a professional musician who plays the original rockabilly, classic country and 1950's rock and roll styles.  I'm a huge fan of Johnny Horton.  When I saw the ad, and realized that it had real provenance that connected the console to Johnny Horton's widow, Billie Jean Horton, I jumped on it, realizing that getting this beast home from central Louisiana to Southern California where I live would be a huge undertaking.  But owning Johnny Horton's record player seemed worth it!! 

When the ad came up, I asked several of my friends in Texas and Louisiana if they would be willing to go get the console and store it for me until I came back into the region.  During that time, I was talking to the seller, who ran a museum in the small town of Many, Louisiana that went out of business about ten years ago.  Billie Jean Horton had donated the stereo to the museum back in the 1990s, along with a notarized letter of authenticity.  While I was communicating with the seller, suddenly the ad disappeared and the seller quit returning my phone calls or emails.  I thought all hope was lost....