Author Topic: Curtis Mathes Cabinet Question  (Read 1632 times)

Hull Rust

• View Profile
Curtis Mathes Cabinet Question
« on: January 13, 2016, 05:07:20 PM »

I've no experience with Curtis Mathes, but I've read online about the quality of the cabinet builds.

Saw one today that was very, very rough, and it was a veneer job. For some reason I thought CM didn't (or at least rarely) use veneer. Am I mistaken? Maybe it was used on some models?

The model was 4428 BB, walnut finish.

Anyone here with experience with CM that can shed some light on their cabinets? Thanks in advance for any help.

Pat L

• Founder of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Southeastern Wisconsin
    • View Profile
Re: Curtis Mathes Cabinet Question
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 08:14:53 PM »
I purchased a TOTL Curtis Mathes Royal Dane for my brother. Absolutely huge and gorgeous . It was walnut veneer over heavy particle board. My 1958 Ampex is the same construction. While I prefer veneer over plywood, I wouldn't look at either way of building as more or less quality. The edging on all of our units is solid wood and the panels are always veneered. It's how to build fine cabinets with dimensional stability.

Hull Rust

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2016, 08:31:21 PM »

Thanks for the response, Pat.

The one I looked at is not a TOTL and was not taken care of. Ink stains, water rings, you name it. Really going to be a challenge to make it look presentable.

I like the design and I need to get better at refinishing, so maybe a project to get me further down that road. We'll see. Thanks again.

magpie

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2016, 08:23:22 AM »
I have a very pretty mid-range CM circa 1960, and it has a combination of finely crafted hardwood legs and perimeter wood along with veneer over heavy particle board for the bottom (invisible) and some of the large/flat decorative bits. Overall, it's a pretty well-crafted piece of furniture, but it's not solid wood.