Author Topic: Resistors for speakers...  (Read 1171 times)

medium_grade

• View Profile
Resistors for speakers...
« on: April 30, 2016, 02:24:02 AM »
Folks,

Thought some of you guys might be able to help. Advanced warning: if anything I say seems silly or simply doesn't make sense, please know that I am very new to all this.

I was doing some upgrades to a set of 80s-era Fisher 3-way speakers (nothing special, I'm more just trying to learn). They didn't sound half bad on their own when I plugged them into my Bogen tube amp, so I thought I'd play around.

Speakers had filtering capacitors and not a true crossover. I found an Infinity crossover for (I believe) a good price on eBay. Took out the capacitors and installed the crossover instead. Speakers now had much better articulation and a much larger sound stage, but the highs and mids were way too bright. I looked at the old components and noticed that both the tweeter and midrange previously had a resistor right after the filtering capacitor. The tweeter was 3.0 ohms/5W with a 10% tolerance and the midrange resistor was 2.7 ohms/5W with a 10% tolerance. I put the resisters back into the path and it certainly helped, but it seems that at least the highs are still too bright. I was simply going to buy a few resistors with different levels of resistance and see what sounds best. Is that a good approach? Also, what resistors do you recommend? I heard that Mundorf resistors are good, but I don't know myself. Any suggestions? Am I just a baboon tinkering in the dark here?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2016, 02:27:55 PM by Larry H »

Consoleman

• Southeastern PA
    • View Profile
Re: Resisters for speakers...
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 06:56:45 AM »
I'd put it back to the original design with some Dayton caps.
Mark

medium_grade

• View Profile
Re: Resisters for speakers...
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2016, 11:19:11 AM »
I'd put it back to the original design with some Dayton caps.