Author Topic: Matching new and old Mahogany  (Read 537 times)

Motorola Minion

• Southern Pennsylvania
    • View Profile
Matching new and old Mahogany
« on: January 27, 2017, 08:19:25 AM »
I just got the Magnavox Berkeley back after having its flood-disintegrated structural base and bottom molding re-constructed.  The new wood is solid mahogany, a farmed species from South America used for decking.

One thing needed with new wood is grain-filling the pores to match the rest of the Georgian-Style cabinet's. I remember using something like plastic wood to do this. I'm not a finish expert but I also think Ill have to stain a buch of times to get oit dark to match the old shade and finish with shellac. 

So my quandary is what to use for grain filling.
I also need to confirm that this is not a lacquer like most other consoles.

BTW:
This is the season (in most places) for basement hibernation. Its strange that I'm the only one with a finish issue, but this console needed the most work, so it seems the time to get into it.  ;) not to mention finishing and Beer just go together so well!
Tubes - Magical - Tubes

Dave

electra225

• View Profile
Re: Matching new and old Mahogany
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 10:56:34 AM »
There is a compound called grain filler made specifically for filling grain pores in wood.  I personally like to use Van Dyke brown or black.  The original "mahogany" used on your Magnavox instrument was most likely ash, finished in a mahogany color only Magnavox used.  If you buy "mahogany" stain off the shelf, you may find it does not come close to matching what is original to the cabinet.