Author Topic: Studiomatic Mess  (Read 425 times)

pdamiani488

• View Profile
Studiomatic Mess
« on: February 25, 2017, 11:00:13 PM »
Hi everyone. Hopefully someone can help me with this.
I recently acquired an RCA 4VF349 with the Studiomatic turntable. The cartridge was intact but one channel is weak. Also the platter is not spinning correctly and sounds like it's rubbing. I'm afraid something bent inside. It only half way spins on the 78 speed and when you push on the spindle it goes almost full speed but rubs the platter against the metal casing.
I've been on eBay trying to find a donor for parts or even just to replace it. I did find a portable unit that has a turntable that looks identical but they want $70 and $50 shipping. The ad claims that it's in good condition but it slows to a stop at the end of a record. Probably needs to be lubed. Is this a good replacement for what I have and is it a good deal. Seems a bit high to me but then again I'm no expert.
 http://m.ebay.com/itm/1963-RCA-TOTAL-SOUND-PORTABLE-TUBE-RECORD-PLAYER-MODEL-4VC82-4-SPEAKER-STEREO-/351989109531?hash=item51f42f931b%3Ag%3AHTAAAOSw4CFYrckp&_trkparms=pageci%253A29b4f55d-fbe0-11e6-bd16-74dbd180c924%257Cparentrq%253A78c873e815a0a2af06bdabd1ffec7844%257Ciid%253A1

TC Chris

• View Profile
Re: Studiomatic Mess
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2017, 12:05:18 AM »
As I indicated in the other section, I'd repair your current one.  Sounds like the pricey eBay one ha sits own deficiencies.  Try to fix yours, and if you get especially ham-handed or make some stupid blunder, then you can look farther afield.

Chris Campbell

pdamiani488

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2017, 06:56:18 PM »