Author Topic: New member in Houston  (Read 365 times)

Aristotle

• View Profile
New member in Houston
« on: April 20, 2017, 07:04:11 PM »
Hello.  I'm new to the forum and thought I should introduce myself.  I'm a philosophy professor in Houston, and I have a long-standing interest in vintage tube technology.  I don't, however, have any real knowledge of electronics.  I just love finding and acquiring this stuff and learning about it.  I don't even have a soldering iron. In the past I have hired people to repair things.  Nevertheless, I'm slowly learning.  I have 5 consoles. One is an old Philco highboy, which is just a nice piece of furniture. Another is a 1955 (or '54) Capehart, which is the rare phonograph only.  I had it refurbished in 2002 and it has been playing beautifully ever since, though in the last month it has gradually started getting a hiss & static sound. Then I have a one-owner, 1962 RCA Victor, 23 tube, 3-channel radio and phonograph. I got it recently and have not had it refurbished. It has a 15" woofer, two 5x7s and two tweeters. I have also a 1957 (?) Blaupunkt that I have never had refurbished and which is basically furniture (well, it serves liquor). Finally, I have just acquired a beast I found in a Houston suburb, which is a 1964 GE.  It has 10 speakers, plus a portable, wireless "porta-fi" speaker, which can be mounted anywhere in the house. The console has a separate transmitter chassis that sends the signal to this speaker.  This GE, as found, seems capable of filling a stadium with sound, and according to an add I saw for it, has a 100-watt amp.  It has also the "Vacu-Magic" phonograph, which uses an internal vacuum pump and hose system to pull air across the record (and needle?). 

electra225

• View Profile
Re: New member in Houston
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 08:12:41 PM »
This is the place if you like console stereos.  Welcome aboard!
If it ain't broke, call me.  I can break it....

TC Chris

• View Profile