Author Topic: Fisher Custom Electra V (E46-X-PM) - Where to begin?  (Read 347 times)

ITABWODI

• View Profile
Fisher Custom Electra V (E46-X-PM) - Where to begin?
« on: June 13, 2017, 09:18:17 PM »
Hi Everyone!  I'm really glad I found this forum, and I hope you all don't mind getting a question from a complete newbie!  So, several years ago I inherited a Fisher Custom Electra V, model E46-X-PM, from my grandfather (who paid $535.60 for it in 1962 - the sales slip was still in it, tucked inside the user manual!).  It did not have much use for a long time, but was still in good condition.  The radio tuner works well, but I've never really tried to use the Garrard turntable.  The more I read on this forum and elsewhere, the more I'm thinking this baby could sound a lot better than it already does.  As it is now, I'm getting humming or buzzing noise with the music regardless of the source (i.e. AM, FM, or external source plugged in to the phono RCA inputs on the tuner module), and it follows the volume level (i.e. higher volume = louder hum).  So my question is, where do I begin trouble shooting this thing?  Or, are there certain parts I should try to replace even before trying to troubleshoot anything?  As far as I can tell, all of the parts are original.  I guess I should also mention that I've never restored a stereo before, but I can handle a soldering iron pretty well. 

Thanks in advance for your help - I'm really looking forward to hearing your suggestions (and questions)!

TC Chris

• View Profile
Re: Fisher Custom Electra V (E46-X-PM) - Where to begin?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 10:53:40 PM »