Author Topic: Anyone know how to rig things to run ipod through phono without changer running?  (Read 548 times)

robbo

• View Profile
Newbie here, Rob.  My wife works on Magnavox Way in Fort Wayne which has led to my justifying increasing amounts of Magnavox furniture in the house much to her chagrin.  I try to explain that it's her fault but...

Anyway, I've trawled the archives a wee bit, seen this touched on by Pat, but can't find the practical solution to my problem, namely how to plug an ipod into the phono input of my Imperial without having to have the changer spin.  I've bought a gizmo that I velcro to the back of the unit that allows two phono inputs (record player and ipod) to one output (into the amp) so I don't need to constantly swapping cables in the back, but I'd really like a hard-wired solution to not having to run the changer.

I've seen plenty of discussion about phono vs. aux. vs. tape and don't really want to discuss that, for me the phono input is obvious.

Anybody solved the problem and is willing to help?  I'm an electrical dunce and would need to convey to my amp man.

Thanks All,
Rob

electra225

• View Profile
Would you care to share with us (or refresh memories) as to why you object to using the tape input?
If it ain't broke, call me.  I can break it....

TC Chris

• View Profile
Would you care to share with us (or refresh memories) as to why you object to using the tape input?

One reason might be that Magnavox was not big on labels for those RCA jacks, at least on older models like my '56.  I had to figure out where to plug the changer in by trial and error.  Most manufacturers were quite clear about what was what.  Maggie, not so much.

Chris Campbell

robbo

• View Profile
The phono input has way more bass and just sounds better.

TC Chris

• View Profile