Author Topic: A Daunting Task...  (Read 130 times)

Plansby

• View Profile
A Daunting Task...
« on: August 28, 2018, 09:39:45 AM »
Hi there!

I recently took possession of this Magnavox that had been kicking around various family members' garages for decades. Before I knew better, I plugged it in and fired it up and the turntable failed almost immediately, but the radio works, although sound only comes from one speaker.

I have decided to test the limits of my wife's patience and see what I can do to revive it. I am just starting out, but plan to essentially remove the console and components, clean up the box and reinstall, adding a Bluetooth receiver, to make all my hipster friends jealous.

I found a picture in the 1970 catalog, it is the one on top: "Tasteful Contemporary." I am attaching a couple of photos, and the rest can be found at https://photos.app.goo.gl/UcL47QH33rJ5wpKW9

Based on the labeling, I am guessing it's a 1970 AstroSonic 1P3631 in Walnut from Run 1, with a W801-01-00 console. Does that sound correct?

Any advice or direction would be a big help! I have begun a search through various discussions, but haven't found much on point, as far as I could tell.

Thanks in advance!

Plansby

• View Profile
Re: A Daunting Task...
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2018, 10:35:38 AM »
Ok, so I realized that the W801-01-00 is the turntable, not the console. The more you know!

electra225

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2018, 12:42:25 PM »
There should be numbers such as R204-30-XX or similar stamped in black ink somewhere on the chassis.  That is the number you use for a schematic.  The W801 number is used to get information for the changer.  You should probably clean all the switches and controls to see if that affects your dead channel.  More probably you will need to replace all the capacitors in the tuner/amp chassis to get it to work properly and for the long term.  Good luck and welcome to the forum.!