Author Topic: Magnavox Intermezzo - Swedish Modern, Model # 1SC256 K  (Read 1276 times)

NewAtMag

• View Profile
Magnavox Intermezzo - Swedish Modern, Model # 1SC256 K
« on: April 16, 2019, 07:59:27 PM »
Hi, all.

I recently purchased my first Magnavox console record changer. I am new at this, and learning as I go via the internet. If anyone has any thoughts, advice, or even a story or two, please feel free to share them.

Style: Intermezzo Swedish Modern
Model Number: 1SC256 K, Mahogany
Year: 1961
Amp: 8301-10 , 100W

My history with it:
I bought this from a used furniture dealer in Kernersville, NC for $50 on April 9, 2019. She said that had acquired it at an estate sale of a house that had been closed up for twenty years. It seemed to be in good condition cosmetically, and she said that while it would power up, turn the platter, and move the arm, she couldn't get those things to happen at the same time. It included all the original paperwork: Instruction manual, warranty certificate, warranty card, inspection card.

Initial inspection results:
It would play at 33 speed when set to 45, and when set to 33, the platter wouldn't spin at all. All four speakers worked, and all the vacuum tubes lit up. The drive wheel seemed to be in good shape. The idler wheel was hard and had a divet in one place. The motor mounts were squishy and falling apart. Both needles looked a bit corroded, but not awful.

Cleaning and re-greasing:
I removed the platter from the turntable, and then the turntable from the console. I also pulled the idler wheel off. I cleaned off all the old grease I could find. I used Gumout Carb Cleaner for this. Then I put 3-in-1 oil in the motor bearings and the idler wheel post. I used white lithium grease on every other moving part I could find, generally making a mess with the stuff. I also packed grease in the center post ball bearings. Oh, and I cleaned the thick layer of dust off the vacuum tubes.

Motor mounts repair: